Book Review: Frostfire

Book review: Frostfire by Amanda Hocking

Series: Kanin Chronicles #1

Genre: YA Fantasy

Page length: 321

Published on: 1 January 2015 

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin 
Synopsis: Bryn Aven is an outcast among the Kanin, the most powerful of the troll tribes.

Set apart by her heritage and her past, Bryn is a tracker who’s determined to become a respected part of her world. She has just one goal: become a member of the elite King’s Guard to protect the royal family. She’s not going to let anything stand in her way, not even a forbidden romance with her boss Ridley Dresden.

But all her plans for the future are put on hold when Konstantin– a fallen hero she once loved – begins kidnapping changelings. Bryn is sent in to help stop him, but will she lose her heart in the process? 

Rating: ✯✯✯✯

Review

While I enjoyed this book as much as the Trylle series, Frostfire didn’t seemed to have the same appeal to me as the Trylle books. Like most of the YA books out there, Frostfire has a love triangle. I’m okay with love triangles, but I’m sick of seeing it. The plot, I feel, is more original than the Trylle series. It didn’t have the royal realization element.

As for the characters, I think they were quite well-developed. But WHY, WHY, WHY must Konstantin be the brooding bad boy, and Ridley Mr Perfect?! I especially despise these sort of love triangle character. It makes want to roll my eyes every time I see the Cliche Love Triangle Boys (CLTB)

Bryn reminds me of Katniss from Hunger Games and(obviously) my favorite character in Frostfire. Not only was she strong both mentally and physically, she was also flawed. Amanda did a great job of portraying her as a flawed hero.
For the world-building, I would only give it 3/5. There wasn’t enough details given about the Kanin kingdom. The author probably wanted to let us readers imagine the kingdom ourselves, but I personally think the world lacks in detail. Two, most of the time, scenes either revolves around Bryn and Konstantin or Bryn and Ridley. Which was probably why there wasn’t much space for describing the fantasy world.
And the ending! The story ended off RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STORY. Ending the story with the protagonist packing the bags and preparing to go home is NOT a cliffhanger (to me, anyway).
Overall, Frostfire is okay, except for the cliche and mistakes. I honestly felt that this book is a disappointment to me, given that the Trylle Series is phenomenal. Still, I judged this book harsher than the others. Despite my review, I still enjoy the book and love the way the writer wrote her books.
Enjoy Factor: 4/5
Characters: 3/5
Plot: 4.5/5
Overall: 3.8/5 (rounded off)
Leave a Reply

