Book Review: Shatter Me

 Shatter MEBook review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Series: Shatter Me #1

Genre: Dystopian, YA

Page length: 338

Published on: 15 November 2011

Publisher: HarperCollins

Synopsis: I have a curse. I have a gift.

I’m a monster. I’m more than human.

My touch is lethal. My touch is power.

I am their weapon. I will fight back.

No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon.But Juliette has plans of her own. After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time—and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever.

Rating: ✯✯✯

Review

Before I start, please give me a second to fangirl over the book cover. IT IS SO COOL!

Right. Back to business.

Let’s start with the cons of Shatter Me. WARNING: ranting ahead.

Some unnecessary things in Shatter Me: the strike out. Every few pages I would see a strike out, and I couldn’t help but wonder IS THERE A NEED FOR THE STRIKE OUTS?!

The writer could have just not include all the strike out phrases and sentences. It’s probably meant to make the book unique but I honestly think the strike outs made the book look like a first draft.

The main character Juliette reminds me of someone from another book. Is it Katniss from Hunger Games? No. Tris from Divergent? No. Clary from The Mortal Instruments? Hell no.

Who I think Juliette’s twin sister is: Bella Swan from Twilight.

Some of you may not agree with me but I seriously think Juliette is an exact copy of the limp noodle protagonist Bella. Correction, not really the exact copy, but close enough. Why? Juliette is weak. She cries and whine and has low self-esteem. I’m perfectly fine with protagonists with low self-esteem but I’m NOT okay with protagonists like Juliette who has to wait for her knight in shining armor (in Shatter Me, it’s Adam) to ride in and tell her how beautiful and smart she is.

And the love triangle! It’s just… so… badly written. It’s pretty obvious who Juliette favors more.

Speaking of the love triangle, the CLTB (Cliché Love Triangle Boys) are,by far, the WORSE OF THE WORSE I’ve ever seen. Maybe I’m being too harsh or something but really it makes me want to throw the book aside when I was reading it. Usually I can tolerate CLTBs but for this book… no.

It seems to me that Juliette is the only girl present in the book. To be more accurate, the only girl who has lines in the story. What happen to the other females? Are they mute or something?

For the villain Warner, I thought he is interesting and had the potential to be a good villain. He made me hate him, made me cringe and made me feel uncomfortable. He was getting there. And then he had to go say something stupid.

The plot. Well, I won’t say it isn’t good, but I also won’t say it is original. The plot has all the worn-out cliché elements in Dystopian novels:

  • The world as we know it is in a complete disaster, with humans on the brink of extinction and almost all plants and animals dead.
  • The remaining government officials joined forces and became greedy, corrupted rulers.
  • Main character’s love interest is someone she knows either distantly or is a childhood friend.

I’m not really happy with the style of the writing either. As mentioned in the beginning of the review, the strike outs are absolutely unnecessary. But I forgot to mention something else. There’s just SO MANY PURPLE PROSES.

This is how Juliette describes Adam’s gaze and eyes:

“…perfect shade of cobalt, blue like a blossoming bruise, clear and deep and decided”

“… 2 buckets of rainwater; deep, fresh, clear”

“…blue and bottomless like the deepest part of the ocean”

“…as tight as his fists as tight as the strain in his arms”

“…midnight moment filled with memories, the only windows into my world”

“… always shining the darkness”

“…two pools of perfection, open, honest, humble”

“…a shade of blue in a midnight sky”

Really? 

World building: Didn’t have much details about the world. All I know is that it’s post-apocalypse and in a very bad shape due to human pollution.

Next up: the pros of the story.

To be honest, I can’t find anything really good in Shatter Me. It’s quite addictive, and though I’d to sometimes force myself to continue reading. I personally think the genre of this book should be romance instead of dystopian. Because 90% of Shatter Me is steamy scenes between Juliette and Adam or Juliette and Warner. Fine, I exaggerated. Not 90%, but close to 90%.

I’m not going to read the next book in the series   I’ll give the second book Unravel Me a shot and see if it’s better than Shatter Me.

Enjoy Factor: 3/5

Character: 2/5

World Building: 2.7/5 

Writing Style: 2.5/5

Overall: 2.55/5 (rounded up)

Leave a Reply

