Book Review: Drain Me

Review: Drain Me by Lana Sky

Series: The Ellie Gray Chronicels #1

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Page Length: 562

Published on: 28 November 2014

Publisher: Self published

Synopsis: “Red coated his lips, vibrant against that ivory skin. He was the devil incarnate, dressed impeccably in Armani, and I had never seen a sight more terrifying.”

When diagnosed with a fatal illness at the age of twenty six, Eleanor Gray is resigned to her fate—at least until the enigmatic Dublin Helos appears and makes her an offer she knows she should refuse:

Life or Death?

With a decision as harmless as checking the wrong box on a mysterious questionnaire, Ellie is plunged into a dangerous world where souls are sold to the highest bidder and pleasure is fueled by pain.
The rules of this new life are simple: submit everything—mind, body and soul. But the further Ellie falls under Dublin’s control, the more she comes to realize that it’s not just her sanity at stake, but her heart and a whole lot of blood too.

Rating: ✯✯✯✯✯

Review

I was hesitant to pick up the book in the first place, because I’ve never been a fan of vampire stories. But I did after some consideration and I made the right choice because Drain Me totally rocks!

Ellie Gray kind of reminds me of Elsa from Frozen- a really complicated character.

She wasn’t arrogant or spoiled, which was something, considering how wealthy she was and could have everything she wanted. She’s an interesting heroine, and I think what really made Ellie such an awesome heroine was her stubborness and vulnerability. When Dublin provoked her, she didn’t back down like a scared little girl but fought back with such ferocity. Maybe that was why I like her so much.

Dublin is the other fascinating character. He is everything a cold-hearted vampire should be. And seeing him slip out of control was one of the most awesome thing I’ve ever read. I wouldn’t say any more; I don’t want to spoil anything for you.

One thing that sets Drain Me apart from other books is that though it was the first in a book series, it didn’t end with a cliffhanger that drives readers crazy. Okay, I’m exaggerating. Cliffhangers don’t make readers go nuts. Anyway, the book ended with readers wanting more, but it didn’t leave them dangling there. So yes, that was another reason why I love Drain Me.

Drain me is highly recommended to , um, can I say everyone?   !

The next book in the series, Chain Me, is coming out sometime this year. I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

Leave a Reply

