October TBR

October is finally here! Alright, so today isn’t the first of October… Anyway, along with Halloween, October is bringing some big book releases… as well as books that I’ve been dying to get my hands on since the beginning of the year. Also, there are some books that I want to reread. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, children of all ages, I present to you… my October TBR list!

(That wasn’t necessary but I wanted to write it)

OCTOBER TBR LIST

 #1: THE ROSE SOCIETY

After picking up The Young Elites from a bookstore last year and read it in one seating, I’ve been waiting for the months to get my hands on the sequel to the phenomenal book. The Rose Society will be released on 13 October 2015. Aaah! I can’t wait!

#2: UNGODLY

Okay, so Ungodly wasn’t released in October (it was published in late September). But it usually took at least a month or two before books published in the US or UK or anywhere else in the world hits my country’s bookstores. I could get this book through Amazon in Ebook format, but I want a paperback copy. And I don’t want to pay the extra shipping money. Though I didn’t exactly like the first book in the trilogy (Antigoddess), I love the second book and so I’ve been waiting for the last book to come out.

#3: WINTER

I’ve heard a number of positive reviews on the Lunar Chronicles series, and my friends have been raving about it. So I went to the bookstore and purchased the first book in the series, Cinder. Initially, I was kind of scared to read Cinder as I thought it would be like most of the other re-tellings of Cinderella. After I read the book, I was like, “WOW. I have to read the rest of the books in the series!” Fortunately, the sequels to Cinder, Scarlet and Cress didn’t suffer from what I would call Middle Book(s) Syndrome (When the sequels to the first book in a series wasn’t as well written as the first). The next installment in the series, WINTER, is definitely on my TBR list. Hopefully I’ll get an ARC copy.

#4: THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS SERIES

I didn’t quite like the books in the bestselling Mortal Instruments series, mainly because of one of the MC Jace Wayland. He’s too arrogant for my liking. And the plot, while interesting, was filled with so much cliches that I lost count of the number of times I’d rolled my eyes. The writing wasn’t that bad, but it wasn’t exactly awesome either. However, I’ve seen the new book covers makeovers for the series and it inspired me to give the series another try.

#4: THE INFERNAL DEVICES TRILOGY

After the disappointment of the Mortal Instruments Series, I didn’t feel like reading the prequel to the series. But a few weeks ago I read the book summary for the first book in the trilogy and thought it sounded pretty interesting, so I decided to try out the Infernal Devices Trilogy. Also, shiny new covers!

#5: THE IRON WARRIOR

Last on my October TBR list is the Iron Warrior by Julie Kagawa! I’ve heard SO many great reviews on the Iron Fey series! Naturally, I wanted to read the series for myself to see if the series is really THAT good. After reading, I feel that it’s just meh. However, I still want to read the next installment in the series. The Iron Warrior will be publish on 27 October 2015.

Leave a Reply

