Book Review: FALLEN

Title: Fallen

Author: Lauren Kate

Genre: Paranormal | Fantasy | Romance | YA

Series: Fallen #1

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publication Date: 8 December 2009

Paperback: 452 pages

Source: Purchased

Synopsis: What if the person you were meant to be with could never be yours?

17-year-old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous, intelligent boy, Daniel, at her new school, the grim, foreboding Sword & Cross . . . only to find out that Daniel is a fallen angel, and that they have spent lifetimes finding and losing one another as good & evil forces plot to keep them apart.

Get ready to fall . . .

Rating: ✯✯½

Review

For four whole years, I didn’t want to read Fallen. I’d read the book summary on Goodreads and got Twilight vibes, so I was like, “I’m not going to waste my money on another Twilight-like book.”  However, for some reasons, I got this urge to read Fallen in late September 2015. I decided to give this book a try to see if it’s really Twilight-like or not. Unfortunately, it’s the former. There are still some stuffs I like about this book, though.

Let’s start with the things that I don’t like about Fallen. Warning: rants ahead.

The story starts off with Daniel and another girl (sort of) making out. Then Daniel tries to dissuade the girl from following him because of some reasons, and when she refuses to, the girl is killed by some monsters. That’s the prologue. I personally feel the prologue is unnecessary. The prologue practically screams at the readers, “LUCINDA PRICE HAS BEEN REINCARNATED.”

Speaking of Lucinda Price (A.K.A Luce), I find her one of the most annoying character in the book. One of the main reason as to why I dislike Luce so much is that she’s a stalker. An obsessive stalker (if there’s even such a term). I mean, who starts stalking someone just because he/she looks familiar? That’s unrealistic. Luce is so obsessed with Daniel that she even go as far as breaking into the school office just to learn more about Daniel!

And when she FINALLY learns who, or what, Daniel truly is, guess what Luce did? She ran away. (To be honest, I might run away screaming when I know that the hot boy who I’ve been crushing on/ stalking is a fallen angel.)

The only “redeeming” quality Luce have is her stubbornness. She would NOT stop stalking Daniel even when he has told her a kajilion times that she’s annoying as hell and treats her like rubbish. Seriously, if I ever see Luce on the streets I’ll probably run far, far away. Or give her a nice punch in the face. I’ve never read such weak characters (maybe apart from Mary Sues and Bella) in my life.

Luce’s love interest, Daniel, is only a little better than Luce. He’s a cliché character: The Brooding Bad Boy. Who tries to deny/ hide his feelings for our dear main character Luce. He’s almost a CARBON COPY of Edward from Twilight.  Here’s why.

  1. Daniel is over a hundred years old, just like Edward.
  2. As mention above, Daniel denies/ hide his feelings for Luce (at least, in the beginning of the story), just like Edward.
  3.  He’s unbearably and unnaturally attractive, JUST. LIKE. EDWARD.

To be honest, I can stand Brooding Bad Boys. Provided if the plot/story is awesome. Sadly, Fallen doesn’t have a great plot, though I do like some parts of it.

If the main characters are bad, the romance is worst. I didn’t buy the romance between Luce and Daniel. It felt fake and forced. It’s like the author forced Luce and Daniel to fall for each other just for the sake of the story. There was no chemistry. Well, okay, there is some chemistry, but not enough for my liking.

Most of the secondary characters in the story are as flat as cardboard. They are unforgettable and can be discarded easily.

As for the plot, I would say it’s average at best. It has clichés, it has plot holes. The pacing of the story is extremely slooow. For the first 200 pages, at least. I’d to force myself through at least 200 pages before tension starts to build up and the pacing becomes faster.

Rants aside. Let’s talk about what I do like about Fallen.

If I felt like falling asleep while reading the first half of the book, while reading the second half I was practically on the edge of my seat. My eyes were glued to every single page in the second half of Fallen. The tension, action and fast-pacing is (finally) there.

The writing is not the best, but it’s not the worst of the worst either. It was jerky at some parts, but overall it’s okay. Narrative is clear, apart from occasional slips. As for the ending, I wasn’t entirely satisfied with it. Some loose ends were not tied up.

Fallen wasn’t that bad. Well, in my opinion it’s bad, but not one-star bad. Fallen wasn’t the worst I’ve ever read. The first half of the story was incredibly boring, whereas the second half was more action-packed and addictive. I wouldn’t recommend Fallen, but you can try it. Some people might love the book, but some might hate it.

Leave a Reply

