Book Review: A COURT OF THORN AND ROSES

22839894

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publication: May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury Children’s

Source: Purchased: Kindle Edition (432 pages)

Summary: A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Rating: ✯✯½

Review

 

ACOTAR is basically a combination of Twilight and The Hunger Games. The result wasn’t good.

To be honest, I did enjoy some parts of the book, like the part where Feyre got tortured by the villain. I’m not being a sadist; I honestly think that was one of the best scenes in ACOTAR.

Reason #1 as to why I didn’t enjoy this book as much as other readers is: I felt things was too convenient- or should I say, too easy for Feyre. Everything came too easily onto her plate.

For instance, she got answers from the Fae without trying too hard. The Fae was supposed to hate her and be more cautious around her, for she killed one of their kinds while she was hunting. However, the Fae were dishing out whatever information Feyre wants and needs to escape the Fae realm.

Reason #2: THE ROMANCE

Okay, so maybe there wasn’t a total “love at first sight” when Feyre and Tamlin first met. But I felt their romance was kind of…dull. Sure, they have crazy make out sessions (some of which I actually enjoyed), but I didn’t feel any real chemistry between them.

Reason #3: THE INCREDIBLY SLOW PLOT

Nothing interesting happened for about two-third of the book. To be more specific, nothing happened to the characters to move the plot forward. I started skimming around 30% because it was just so boring.

Things started to get more interesting only at the last third of the book. However, all the actions came a little too late. I was so bored out of my skull that I seriously considered DNFing the book.

Reason #4: THE ENDING

While I like the ending (THE FEELS! THE EMOTIONS!), I felt some loose ends weren’t tied up. Whatever happened to Feyre’s family members? And, at the last few pages, why was Rhysand so shocked when he saw Feyre’s face?

Dislikes about ACOTAR aside, let’s talk about what I did like about the book. To be honest, there wasn’t much, save for the few exciting scenes.

Personally, I felt the supporting characters were more developed than the main characters. Both Lucien and Rhysand were these complex characters with a dark past who made the book more interesting.

At first, I though Lucien would become Feyre’s second love interest (therefore, forming a love triangle). Thank goodness he didn’t. I don’t consider Rhysand Feyre’s love interest, but he does have the potential to become one. (I hope he doesn’t)

I won’t recommend ACOTAR, for I personally think it’s a disappointing read. However, I’m not discouraging people from reading it. If you think ACOTAR is interesting, go ahead (purchase links below).

A warning, though. There are some mature content- graphic scenes which may be disturbing for some people.

Buy A Court of Thorns and Roses: AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLES | KOBO

Leave a Reply

