Book review: ABOVE

0-545-29670-6Author: Leah Bobet

Publication: April 1st 2012 by Arthur A. Levine Books

Format: Ebook, 373 pages

Summary: Matthew has loved Ariel from the moment he found her in the tunnels, her bee’s wings falling away. They live in Safe, an underground refuge for those fleeing the city Above–like Whisper, who speaks to ghosts, and Jack Flash, who can shoot lightning from his fingers.

But one terrifying night, an old enemy invades Safe with an army of shadows, and only Matthew, Ariel, and a few friends escape Above. As Matthew unravels the mystery of Safe’s history and the shadows’ attack, he realizes he must find a way to remake his home–not just for himself, but for Ariel, who needs him more than ever before.

ABOVE is the debut of an amazing new voice.

Rating: 2/7 stars

Review

This month is probably the worst reading month in my entire life because none of the books seemed to be working for me!

I feel bad for giving the book such a low rating because the story sounds intriguing and my friend said it was nice. But I’d so many problems with the book!

The biggest problem is the writing. It was confusing and choppy- I had to reread sentences just to understand them. Furthermore, a LOT of words were Capitalized unnecessarily. Like This. It’s very Annoying.

It takes a second to realize; they’re light, quiet, patter-quick. I straighten up — I’ve been half-asleep, and that’s stupid, dangerous-stupid — and squint into the dark.
“Hello?” I call out quiet, knowing a second later that was also stupid and I shouldn’t have said a thing. It echoes hello-lo-lo through the tunnel, and when the echo’s gone I shift my weight one foot to the other and there’s no footsteps no more.

I had almost no idea what was happening in the story (I’ll get to that later). The writing may have something to do with that.

I have a major problem with the characters. I didn’t like any of them.

Meet Ariel, the most forgettable character ever. Okay, so Ariel wasn’t the most forgettable character ever, but she was definitely (one of) the most annoying character I’ve ever had the misfortune to read about.

I think the author was trying to portray Ariel as a fragile character who needs support, but her constant whining grated on my nerves.

Next, meet the equally forgettable love interest/ main character: Matthew. He has an undying, ridiculous love for Ariel. And, that’s it. His character never developed beyond that.

Basically, none of the characters were memorable or likable (or, at least, interesting). The plot was pretty dull as well. There were a few ‘exciting’ scenes here and there, but they didn’t interest me.

I had hoped to enjoy ABOVE, but… this book just wasn’t my cup of tea.

 

Buy Above: AMAZON | KOBOBARNES & NOBLES

 

Leave a Reply

